

THE CHAPEL OF FOUR CHAPLAINS LEGION OF HONOR PROGRAM

The Chapel of Four Chaplains seeks to encourage observation of the unity which binds together Americans of all faiths. Patriotic in its nature, the Chapel celebrates the characteristic generosity, devotion to God and country, and love of fellowman which we share in common.

Shortly after the Chapel's dedication by President Harry S. Truman in 1951, the founding trustees established the Legion of Honor Program to publicly recognize persons whose lives model the kind of selfless service to community, nation, and humanity without regard to race, religion, or creed, so dramatically exemplified by the Four Chaplains.

Recipients of the *Legion of Honor Award* become a permanent part of the Chapel's records, and receive a beautiful certificate with full-color likenesses of the Four Chaplains.

These Four Army Chaplains: George L. Fox (Methodist); Alexander D. Goode (Jewish); Clark V. Poling (Reformed Church); and John P. Washington (Roman Catholic); and 902 men were on board the USAT DORCHESTER when it was torpedoed by an enemy submarine off the coast of Greenland on February 3, 1943. Survivors report that the Chaplains moved among these frightened men calming and comforting them. Many who struggled to the deck had no lifejackets; they assisted these men but soon the supply of lifejackets was exhausted. When the Chaplains could find no more, they took off their own lifejackets and gave them to soldiers who had none. When the Four Chaplains were last seen, their arms were linked as they knelt together on the slanting deck, and their heads were bowed as each prayed in his own way to their One God.

The Legion of Honor Award, the Humanitarian Award, the Charles W. David, Jr. Life-Saving Medallion, and the Bronze and Gold Medallions are presented for service to the local community, at the state or regional level, and at the national or international level, respectively. Some notable recipients include Presidents Truman, Eisenhower, Carter, and Reagan; luminaries such as Bob Hope, John Glenn, Martha Raye, James Michener, Marian Anderson, C. Everett Koop, Tommy Lasorda, and Shirley Chisholm; as well as military personnel, veterans, and civilians from all walks of life nationwide.

The *Junior Legion of Honor Award* is awarded to young people who have contributed to interethnic and interfaith harmony in the community, and whose lives are marked by volunteer, selfless service.

Nominations are accepted by the Awards Committee from recipients of the Legion of Honor; church and government leaders; and leaders of civic, fraternal and veteran organizations. All awards are presented publicly at a Legion of Honor Service or as part of an appropriate ceremony which includes the saga of the Four Chaplains.